One Day at a Time: Day 23

IMG_2049

I returned to work on Monday after two glorious weeks of vacation. I’m not exaggerating. It was by far the best and most fulfilling Christmas season that I’ve had in a very long time. I was ready to go back to work, I love my teaching job and my body was craving a return to a “normal” routine. Of course, the kids and I enjoyed staying up late and sleeping in past the sunrise, but we had all packed on some holiday “celebration” pounds that needed to be dealt with. I knew that a return to reality would most certainly assist us in shedding our winter coats.

Monday arrived and so did the lullaby of my alarm at 4:50 AM. I’m totally kidding. At that ungodly early hour, there is no such thing as a lullaby; it was more like a nails on a chalkboard kind of awakening. And with that, I joyously jumped out of bed and began my 30-minute workout with my 21-Day Fix video pals.

I’m lying. I didn’t get out of bed and I didn’t work out. I laid there and surfed Facebook and checked my email. I told myself that I would workout when I got home that evening.  The only morale-boosting activities I accomplished before leaving for work were reading my daily devotional and praying. Had I not completed those staples, I do believe a full meltdown would have ensued at some point during the day.

I didn’t work out when I got home that evening and I I ate a half a box of red licorice before I went to bed. I felt “blah” and I just felt sad, maybe even a bit depressed. I wish that I could say that I snapped out of my mood on Tuesday, but I didn’t. The only difference was instead of devouring licorice, I sucked down a half of a box of Bottlecaps. I was in a funk. I couldn’t put my finger on exactly why; but I felt down and out.

I was frustrated and a bit ticked off that I wasn’t experiencing joy everyday, all day. I mean, I was sober now and was finally allowing myself to live my life and be present in the moments of my day and I here I was practically in the fetal position inhaling every carb I could get my hands on.

I began to journal and pour out my heart to God. I just wanted Him to understand how I was feeling and since I couldn’t seem to talk to Him without crying or popping an M&M, I figured writing would be my best option. I won’t bore you with all of the details, but what ended up on paper was amazing. The bottom line was this: bad or good, I was living. Not only was I living, but I was doing so without drowning my feelings in a bottle of wine. Yes, I was feeling a bit melancholy and frustrated that I wasn’t in the best of spirits, but I was working through these thoughts and feelings in a healthy way.

In the very recent past, two bad days would have ended in a pattern of drinking, self-loathing, condemnation, guilt, and disgust. And though I know that my Heavenly Father has loved and will continue to love me unconditionally even in my darkest hours, on this occasion,  I was able to spend time in His presence and actually remember and enjoy our encounter. I was able to let my tears flow and allow Him to just love on me.

This is such a new concept for me because my earthly father has never been there for me. He once told me a “funny” story about how he begged my mom to abort me. She refused and here I am. I don’t say this looking for sympathy, or for shock value, but to make a point. Unfortunately, those of us who have absentee fathers often find it difficult to allow our Heavenly Father to swoop in and just hold us. We struggle with hearing him brag on us and have a hard time believing His unconditional declaration of love for us. I’m his favorite kid and so are you! And it feels good; not it feels phenomenal. Let’s enjoy being “the favorite.”

Look, everyday of our lives is not going to be a 5-star, lottery winning, Disneyland-visiting type of awesome day. I know this, I mean I’m not delusional. And as I go through this process of healing and allow God to guide me through the peaks and valleys, I am able to experience the life that He created just for me. And you, my friend, are able to do the same; anytime, anyplace, anywhere. He’s not only the absolute best daddy, but He’s a pretty darn good tour guide, as well.

Bryant McGill of simplereminders.com says this, “Don’t be afraid to express your love. Open yourself to feeling everything. Living without feeling is no different than not living at all.” And I must say, I totally agree with him. I thought that I was pretty awesome at expressing my love. But, looking back, when I stopped allowing myself to experience my feelings and began drowning out my emotions and life in an unrelenting storm of alcohol, that gift began to fade. The toxic blend of shame and unworthiness really stopped that love flow.

I am so thankful that this dam is breaking. The demolition crew has arrived and I am being liberated. I realize allowing ourselves to feel everything is not an easy task and one that will require commitment. But, I truly believe that it is one that we will never regret making. There is no doubt that we will experience bad days and good; sad days and joyful ones. The key is to experience them fully, knowing with absolute certainly that our Heavenly Father is there through it all and always has the best plan for our lives.

Today was a better day. On our walk this afternoon, I couldn’t help but look around at the beauty of our surroundings in absolute joy and awe. There was an added pep in my step and overflow of love in my heart and I knew that everything was going to be better than okay. After all, I am loved by the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords and so are you. This truly makes my heart want to sing.

One final note, I know that this winter coat will be shed. Stay tuned for that transformation, it’s going to be amazing.

Blessings and hugs to you my friends. ❤

Standard

Leave a Reply

